Thing I learnt about today: WebGL

June 14, 2014

I am reviving this blog for a particular purpose. I have long forgotten everywhere this post may propagate so this itself could be interesting.

Anyway. What purpose?

I did my APA (annual performance review thingy) the other day and, of course, it generated some reflection on the year that was. It was a gratifyingly long list of tasks completed but last year was also a year of learning many new things, large and little, that I hadn’t documented.

So I am going to start (re)documenting things I learn in order to track them. Now don’t expect large reflection posts- although that may happen. Things political and issues work related are problematic and won’t be mentioned.

However I am learning lots in my current role that can be mentioned. Some are merely new-to-me concepts that I needed to investigate more, not huge revelations in general. Also last year was a bit satisfyingly creative at home. I count that as learning too so will be including those sorts of things here.

One “thing” per post? Maybe. Some days I learn more than others. Maybe one post per day or week will be enough. Most posts may be a simple term and a link. This post is likely to be the longest for a while.

The “thing” for today WebGL. @mpesce mentioned it on Twitter this morning so I went off to read about it. I should have already known. There are collections in our data repository that really need WebGL to display. I just hadn’t grokked that before. See? Learnt something.

Leave a Reply

