Unread …

June 16, 2010

I made a milestone yesterday (not on time but one can’t have everything) and finally finished a big database clean up job that’s been hanging around since March.

So this afternoon, after dealing with the daily emails and inquiries, instead of starting the next major job on my list I took a couple of hours and cleaned up my desk (oh look- it’s grey!).  As a librarian I fail at filing. I took a couple of trips to the recycling bins and sorted the rest. (There were at least three printouts of versions of Con’s and my VALA paper.)

As a result of the sorting and in the vein of Kathryn’s “Unread by my bed”, I bring you “Unread on my desk”, an illustrated but unguided look at the books and articles I have accumulated- unread. The books at least are from MPOW collection, so long as as no-one else requests them I can renew them until I do read them. I do intend to. As for the articles, I can only apologize to those labouring in inter-library loan and subscription departments and again assure them that I intend to read them. Sometime. Soon.

Article pile

Article pile

Book pile

Book pile

One Response to “Unread …”

  1. Suzie Says:

    Interesting the things we leave unread. I think the cause is that as librarians we find so many topics interesting and relevant. I have a very large Rubbermaid tub by my bed that doubles as a night stand and a storage place for all the materials I have yet to read. I’m going to read these, I swear! Otherwise, I’m “gonna need a bigger boat!”


Leave a Reply

