kids today!

June 15, 2010

I know I have posted before about how my kids make me proud. They can also cheer me up. After a hard day week month I have come home to hear the story from my Mr15 of the results from his mid year English exam.

Background. Recently there has been a milestone moment in a parents upbringing. We have spent the weekend considering his subjects for Year 11. With all the implication that those choices bring.  With these subjects will he get into whatever choice he wants to make at University? Will these choices fit the prerequisites? etc etc. There is the expectation that he will go to uni but his choices are so many. My Ms-now-18 was very set on what she wanted to do and her choices were clear. She did the big 5 in year 12  – English Lit, 2 x Math, Physics and Chemistry. Mr 15 loves his Drama and Art but also his science but he is not so “hardcore”. He had to nominate 7 so we settled on English, 1 math, Chemistry, Biology, Art , Drama and Media production. I worry that he is under selling himself but contrarily I know he is much more “creative” than his science geek parents and sister and would worry if he gave up his art and drama as well. So, gentle readers, you get that it’s a worrying time for a parent.

Back to the English exam. His question was “Discuss two or more texts that you have studied recently. Compare them and discuss techniques that they use…” (He is a bit vague on the detail here). His elective for this semester in English has been public speaking. For this they have been studying debate, battle speeches,  political speeches… and eulogies.

So for his two texts he chose to compare John Cleese’s eulogy for Graham Chapman and Helen Clarke’s eulogy for Edmund Hillary. From memory. With pointers on how Helen could learn from John.

He got a nice 27/30.

As he was telling me he was channeling Cleese with some silly walks thrown in.

He will be OK.

6 Responses to “kids today!”

  1. Ruth Baxter Says:

    Sounds fantastic.
    He’s going to be more than OK. He’s going to be someone who goes on to incorporate the creative into his work and his private life. Like MissSophieMac. May not make a million but will live a full life with humour and risk.

  2. Sally Says:

    That sounds wonderful Sue! Your pride in your son is most justifiable!

    I studied the “big 5” as you say, and spent the next too-many years focussed completely on science and other left-brain stuff. I think we all need to nurture our creative sides too 🙂

  3. apubliclibrarian Says:

    who would think to compare two eulogies-interesting topic choice and the teacher obviously thought so too – thank you for the post I enjoyed reading it.


  4. I love reading about intelligent, creative teenagers. I really believe that most of our teens ARE intelligent, articulate and creative (somewhere, under the ugghs and grunts)and that the bad press ‘youth’ gets is magnified out of all proportion. Perhaps I am naive, or perhaps I am influenced by my own teens and their friends as I watch them work out ‘what to do next’. Great post, thank you so much 🙂

  5. Penny Says:

    I’m with Sally – I did all the serious stuff and now wish I’d done more creative things too. But that what I had to do for the BSc thingy.

    Silly walks are very important. Husband attempts to shame me by performing them in public while with me. I just laugh.

  6. Sue Says:

    I just realized that in the photo I picked he is channeling that clip of Cleese too. It was actually his first day at work back in April.


Leave a Reply

