Why I work where I do

June 10, 2010

I have been in my current place of work 3 years now. It is a good fit with me as my first degree was a BSc and I am married to a geologist. The clients here are a mix of geologists and engineers but with a fair sprinkling of chemists, physicists, software developers and others  mixed in. It means that, although I do everything from circ to ILL to shelving, I also get to do some  meaty literature searches which keep me on my toes.

The last couple of weeks have been difficult and we are coping with some hard changes. I needed reminding of why I like working here and yesterday I got it.

There is simply some VERY COOL stuff going on which I like being part of and like being able to support. But this stuff doesn’t sometimes pass the selection filter of the main stream media. So I am going to talk about work but nothing that isn’t already part of a media release or two…

You may have heard of the SKA Radio Telescope project and it’s pilot the Pathfinder (ASKAP). Well the “quite large”  data centre (named the Pawsey Centre) that will receive the data stream from the Pathfinder is being built right next door. I will be able to watch it progress. And it will require a large energy input so they will build a geothermal plant. Right next door. The people that are doing the research and project management to build these things are my clients. And I get to help.

Yesterday the Prime Minister was on site to announce funding for the geothermal plant and a “hybrid solar storage and generation plant” in the Murchison. Part of my “other duties as directed” for the day was to be in the audience for the announcement and, I although I am not a fan of politicians, the not so closeted greenie and geek in me thought it was just very cool.

My view

6 Responses to “Why I work where I do”


  1. Very cool *green with envy*

  2. Erin Says:

    Damn, add me to the envy club 🙂 I am very excited about that radio telescope!

  3. Michelle Says:

    excellent stuff. Puts everything in perspective.

  4. Sue Says:

    Well- perhaps not everything but I am trying to find postives

  5. Penny Says:

    If I didn’t work in an academic library this is the kind of place I would like to be 🙂 (I have a BSc too).

  6. Sally Says:

    I also have a BSc 🙂

    I’d love to work in a science / research library one day – thanks for sharing some of your enthusiasm with us!


Leave a Reply

