30 things for 30 posts

June 1, 2010

I am also joining in the 30 posts in 30 days challenge posed on Libraries Interact.

It’s easier to stick to this if I have a theme, so inspired by another tweet from @flexnib and a email from her and @sirexkat I have:

“30 things I wish (special) librarians knew”

I will focus on Special Librarians as I know that area best but as I haven’t compiled my gripe list yet if you want to nominate something – a tool or a skill- that you wish your librarian colleagues just knew, feel free to nominate it in the comments and I will do my best to construct a post for it.

However – I wont be including MARC 🙂

9 Responses to “30 things for 30 posts”

  1. CW Says:

    1. The importance of learning

    I wish ALL librarians really know (and live and breathe) this!

  2. Mal Booth Says:

    I reckon librarians need to know more about Flickr. They also have a lot to learn from the way iTunes works. Neither are perfect, but they offer some useful, helpful features. Oh, that’s two things, but I’m from UTS and we don’t play by the rules.

  3. Penny Says:

    Customer service… if you aren’t into it, don’t become a librarian.

  4. Ghylene Says:

    I wish more librarians would use social networking sites so they can feel comfortable enough about these sites to pass on knowledge to the public.
    I also wish they would keep better informed of current trends

  5. bookgrrl Says:

    Marketing your special library service to your clients- how to make yourself indispensible would be a good one.


  6. I wish librarians stopped clinging to the idea that we know everything about information seeking behaviour already, and took onboard the idea of lifelong learning as something we actively need to do in our profession.


  7. […] then there are the personal/professional development posts, including those from Suelibrarian, Opinions from an OPL, moonflowerdragon, Feral Librarian Tales, Strawberries of Integrity, […]


  8. […] solving means being able to gather up all possible solutions before evaluating them why does “lifetime learning” keep coming up as a wish for fellow librarians? We wouldn’t expect doctors or lawyers to know […]


  9. […] started with a theme in order to have something to post about. I have posts on that theme still sitting in drafts. But […]


Leave a Reply

