Ode to a lappy: Part 2

December 11, 2008

I wrote about how much my laptop was helping my productivity and online learning in June.

from spcummings Flickr

from spcummings Flickr

Well yesterday it broke.  Apparently it is something on the motherboard and needs to be looked at by Dell – which could take a few days.  I was grateful that it wasn’t the hard drive because, even though I KNOW different, a large proportion isn’t backed up anywhere.  My IT colleagues have lent me a replacement laptop and transferred the contents of the desktop folder on the old hard drive to this one.

So I am operational – somewhat. Which is actually the point of this post.

I have admin rights but because I only have the loaner for a few days I am not going to install everything that I have on the old laptop or bother IT to image the old machine. I am missing quite a bit and it’s slowing me down but not necessarily stopping me. I thought I would start a list of the bits that I am missing from the corporate image provided. It could help me in the future recreate my machine if necessary and it will let you know what I use every day. (BTW its a long list.)

  • Voyager (library software) circulation module. This is absolutely necessary and I had to reinstall it.
  • Firefox bookmarks – I have only been saving a my research bookmarks to Delicious not the bookmarks in my toolbar that I use everyday. I will be changing this as a back up.
  • Firefox plugins  and  bookmarklets- delicious and google email/share are the ones that I am missing most so far. WordPress “press this” bookmarklets for the different blogs.
  • desktop widgets- I have been using a small set of Yahoo widgets to monitor things like wifi access
  • software for the Dymo label writer
  • webcam software (could work without it but it adds a dimension to phone calls and meetingplace)
  • iTunes- I can’t sync my iPhone at the moment
  • desktop feeds- I have been using Feeddemon and trying out Outlook 2007 to access our firewalled feeds from our blogs and wiki.
  • Procite and Endnote- used to help clients work out issues but also to maintain publication lists for my division
  • Snagit- really missing as I am trying to write an induction powerpoint and have to update the screen shots.
  • Adobe Acrobat. We send out a lot by PDF and some need editing.
  • Irfanview found it
  • Pidgen for IM but I do have MSN
  • Skype
  • Picassa and Flickr uploader
  • WinSCP – to load themes and plugins for our WordPressMU installation
  • Dreamweaver
  • Windows media player classic- not everything will play in windows media player
  • Office 2007. The corporate default is 2003 and I was allowed to try out 2007 to test the RSS feeds in Outlook 2007. Despite everyone hating it and some initial frustrations I have rapidly got to like the new layouts epecially the categoires and task management in Outlook. I was heading to “inbox zero” as a benefit.

There are also some things that are desktop versions of some apps that I use to get content to my iPhone:

  • Stanza
  • Audible
  • Toodledo sync
  • Splashshopper (list maker)
  • Evernote

There is probably more but that’s what has come to mind after 24 hours. What would you miss most?

Leave a Reply

