Where were you … when we got a female PM?

June 24, 2010

Where was I when the news broke last night about the spill?

Umm…in Maccas. #trueconfessions

I had an early morning meeting then Mr15’s parent teacher meetings at his school from 5:30pm for which I had to leave work at 4 to go home first and pick him up.  So I had been offline for a while. (and no time to blog yesterday.)

[The meetings went well but didn’t actually resolve anything re his subject choices for next year. His Art and Drama teachers are delighted he is continuing, the others are concerned about the workload those 2 subjects entail. His recent relatively poor grade in Chemistry could be the result of too much chatter with his mate, but he has lifted in Math from a rank of 80 something last year to 39 at the moment. English and English Lit will each have their pros and cons.]

So hubby went to band practice after the meeting and it was just boy and me heading home to a cold house. So we decided on Maccas on the way home. And regretted it – as we always do. While we were there I checked in with twitter and  saw all the #spill tweets (I am still curious about who started it and picked that hashtag) but none that cited sources and I didn’t take the time to go through them to check. So I remarked to my boy that there seemed to be rumors of a spill. A remark that he quoted back to me this morning “you said that it was just a rumor”.

By the time I got home the stream was full of #spill tweets and jokes like “I hope BP will be at the #spill” (Miles Burke).

The rest of my experience was much like Kathryn’s. Nothing on the ABC TV or SBS in Perth. Someone tweeted that in Perth Channel 7 was broadcasting the speech so I flicked to that.

The news about the result of the ballot has just broken as I have been writing this. I am sitting on the bed listening to ABC radio and checking twitter from time to time. There was a also joke on Yammer that at least a restructure in the labor party is over in 12 hours.

Hubby’s observation this morning is that a new prime minister is like a new phone. We live in anticipation of the new bright and shiny model. Comparisons with the old model start right away. The gloss wears off in about a year and we know that when we are sick of it there will be a new model waiting in the wings.

My other observation, and it is not new, is that its yet another demonstration of the importance of twitter as our news source these days. Even my daughter and her mates (who aren’t on twitter…I think) were quoting the twitter stream in a Facebook thread last night. And yes I am still on Facebook. I get to keep up with daughter and other relatives there.

2 Responses to “Where were you … when we got a female PM?”

  1. Sally Says:

    #spill was the hashtag for the Turnbull/Abbott leadership spill, so I imagine that’s where it came from.

    It was interesting to watch all the rumours and breaking news on Twitter, but I must confess that I was waiting for confirmation from “old media” or the horse’s mouth before I believed it! In the end, it was the good old ABC that kept us informed of the facts (although they did their fair share of rumour-mongering too!).

  2. Penny Says:

    Yes, sometimes it’s a case of plus ca change plus ca meme chose when it comes to changes in leadership. The proof will be in the pudding. Think everyone likes new shiny.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

